

COUNCIL ON SOCIAL WORK EDUCATION

STRENGTHENING THE PROFESSION OF SOCIAL WORK

Leadership in Research, Career Advancement, and Education

333 John Carlyle Street, Suite 400, Alexandria, VA 22314

TEL 703.683.8080

FAX 703.683.8099

www.cswe.org

DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL WORK ACCREDITATION (DOSWA)

COMMISSION ON ACCREDITATION (COA)

CHAIR

Deana F. Morrow, PhD, LICSW, ACSW West Virginia University

VICE CHAIR

Francis X. R. Origanti, PhD Avila University

COMMISSIONERS

Christopher B. Aviles, PhD, MSW Buffalo State College

Christina Bruhn, MSW, PhD Aurora University

Leslie Cook, BSW, MSW, LCSW

Michael R. Daley, PhD, MSW Texas A&M University - Central Texas

Kim S. Downing, PhD, LCSW, ACSW Elizabeth City State University

Humberto E. Fabelo, PhD, LCSW

Catherine Gayle, PhD, LCSW Savannah State University

Thomas K. Gregoire PhD, MSW Ohio State University

Maria A. Gurrola, MSW, PhD California State University, Monterey Bay

Michele D. Hanna, PhD, MSW

Daria V. Hanssen, PhD, LCSW Marist College

William A. Heiss, MSSW University of Wisconsin - Madison

Lihua Huang, MSW, PhD Grand Valley State University

Ji Seon Lee, PhD, MSSW, MPA

Isiah Marshall, Jr., PhD, MSW

Jackson State University

Cheryl A. McAuliffe PhD, LMSW Adelphi University

Lisa B. Moon, PhD, LCSW Walden University

Megan H. Morrissey, MSW, PhD University of Minnesota - Twin Cities

Larry Morton, II, PhD, MSW Arkansas State University

Larry P. Ortiz, MSW, PhD Loma Linda University

Helen E. Petracchi, PhD, MSSW, ACSW University of Pittsburgh

Lynette M. Reitz, PhD, ACSW, LSW

Montclair State University

Dennis J. Ritchie, PhD, MSW George Mason University

Clifford J. Rosenbohm, PhD, LCSW King University

Thomas C. Walsh, BA, MSW, PhD

Ruth Weinzettle, PhD, LCSW-BACS Northwestern State Univ. of Louisiana

James H. Williams, PhD, MSW, MPA

7 III Zona Glate Grironoky

Shelly A. Wiechelt, BA, MSW, PhD University of Maryland, Baltimore County

INTERIM DIRECTOR, DOSWA Anna R. Holster, MSW, MPhil

PRESIDENT & CEO, CSWE

Western Kentucky University

CHAIR, BOARD OF DIRECTORS

March 8, 2021

Pamela Whitten, PhD President Kennesaw State University pwhitten@kennesaw.edu

RE: Reaffirmation

Kennesaw State University (GA) Master's Social Work Program (MSW)

2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS)

Dear President Whitten:

At its February 2021 meeting, the Commission on Accreditation (COA) reviewed the self-study, the COA *Letter of Instruction*, the *Site Visit Report*, and the program's response to the report as the *Reaffirmation* application for the master's social work program. The COA voted to reaffirm the accreditation of the program for eight (8) years, ending in February 2029.

Congratulations on this achievement.

COA reaffirmation decision types are described in section 2.6 COA Reaffirmation Determination and Decisions in the EPAS Handbook.

The accreditation status obtained at *Reaffirmation* only covers the components that were reviewed in the self-study at the time of the COA review. Changes may take place within the program prior to its next scheduled accreditation review; however, some program changes impact compliance with EPAS and require reporting to the COA or DOSWA per section *1.2.4 Program Changes* in the <u>EPAS Handbook</u>. Accreditation is an elective, program-driven, and self-managed peer-review process. Programs are solely responsible for implementing, demonstrating, and maintaining compliance with the EPAS during and in-between review cycles.

Please be in touch with Katie Gibson-Ledl, LLMSW-Macro, Accreditation Specialist in the Department of Social Work Accreditation, if there are any questions about this letter or the procedures and actions of the Commission on Accreditation.

Sincerely,

Deana F. Morrow, PhD, LICSW, ACSW Chair, Commission on Accreditation

DFM/KGL

Cc: Irene S. McClatchey, PhD, LCSW
Associate Professor and MSW Program Director
Kennesaw State University
Department of Social Work and Human Services
imcclatc@kennesaw.edu