A-Z Index  |  Directories

Faculty Handbook

1.1. Faculty Membership at Kennesaw State University

The faculty consists of the corps of instruction and the administrative officers. Full-time professors, associate professors, assistant professors, senior lecturers, lecturers, clinical professors, clinical associate professors, clinical assistant professors, research professors, research associate professors and research assistant professors, and teaching personnel with such other titles as may be approved by the President, shall be the Corps of Instruction. Full-time research and extension personnel and duly certified librarians will be included in the Corps of Instruction on the basis of comparable training. A faculty member who has academic rank and rights of tenure in the Corps of Instruction and who accepts an appointment to an administrative office shall retain his/her academic rank and rights of tenure as an ex-officio member of the Corps of Instruction but shall have no rights of tenure in the administrative office. An administrative officer having faculty status shall have all the responsibilities and privileges of faculty membership except as noted below (BoR Policy Manual, Section 3.2)

The term “teaching faculty” is used at KSU in reference to those members of the Corps of Instruction who hold rank including Librarians, Lecturers and Senior Lecturers who are non-tenure track faculty with renewable contracts as indicated in the BoR Policy Manual (Sections and

Administrative Faculty positions are generally senior administrators who perform work related to the management of the university, college, department or other recognized unit for at least fifty percent (50%) of their work. The role of administrative faculty is characterized by positions whose primary responsibility includes a) the active, continuing involvement in formulating, interpreting and implementing institutional policy; b) the exercise of substantial independence, authority and discretion in areas such as program planning, budgeting, design and allocation of resources; and c) making personnel decisions such as hiring, annual review evaluation, tenure and promotion reviews.  Administrative faculty serve in executive leadership roles such as President, Vice Presidents, Provost, Vice and Associate Provosts, Associate Vice Presidents, Assistant Vice Presidents, Deans, Associate Deans and Assistant Deans of schools and colleges, and Directors, Associate Directors or Department Heads of instructional units or centers/institutes under the auspices of the Division of Academic Affairs. 

Only Administrative faculty who have 50% or more of their workload designated as “administrative” are given administrative contracts and are eligible to receive administrative stipends.  Per BoR Policy Manual (Section, administrative faculty on administrative contracts will have their PTR clocks stopped.  Administrative faculty are not eligible to serve as teaching faculty on Department, College, or University committees nor on the Faculty Senate. (If serving on a committee or the Faculty Senate as a teaching faculty at the time of appointment to an administrative position, the faculty member will be replaced following procedures outlined in department, college, and/or university guidelines).   Administrative faculty are not eligible to be considered for any teaching faculty awards.